Direct/Text: 705-733-5821
Office: 705-446-0891
Fax: 705-422-1904
Email: info@josephtalbot.ca

Town of Collingwood

Town of Collingwood Logo

Municipal information for the Town of Collingwood can be found on the town's website. Click below to see photos of the Collingwood area.

Collingwood Photos







Collingwood's History

By 1843 settlers had arrived on the shores of Georgian Bay near what is now Collingwood. A sawmill and a flourmill were both erected by 1846 on the shores of the bay near the east side of the mouth of Pretty River. The area was first known as Hen and Chickens Harbour. In 1854 it was renamed Collingwood after Admiral Lord Cuthbert Collingwood, who was second in command to Admiral Horatio Nelson.

The arrival of the railroad cemented Collingwood’s value as a centre for shipping and shipbuilding. In 1883 the Shipyards opened with a special ceremony. The rail line provided the ability to transport goods, materials, and people easily and efficiently through the Great Lakes. When the Shipyard closed in 1986, it was a huge economic blow to Collingwood, but the town was able to recover quickly.

Here are some postcards of some of the beautiful original historic sites in Collingwood.

Take a look here at this video of Collingwood’s history and beauty.

Collingwood Enterprise-Bulletin

©

Read the Collingwood Enterprise-Bulletin online or subscribe to discover local and regional news, jobs, real estate listings and much more.

Collingwood Connection

©

The Collingwood Connection is a great source for community news and events, jobs, real estate listings, and vacation information from one of the Canada's most beautiful areas: The Georgian Triangle.

Joe Talbot's Facebook Page
Joe Talbot's YouTube Page
Joe Talbot on LinkedIn
Joe Talbot's Blogger Site